WISE SAYING #30

Proverbs 30:32; “… clap your hand over your mouth!”

Didn’t my mother try to teach me the quiet game, so that I could learn that you do not have to talk to breathe? Didn’t my father say to me more than once, “Rex, you need to stop talking and listen.”? Didn’t the sign on my High School Principal’s desk read, “Put your mind in gear before you put your mouth in motion.”? Didn’t that old preacher friend of mine quote the axiom: “Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.”?

No clever way to say this … but sometimes I just need to shut up!

When my words are hurtful … whether I intend them to be or not … I just need to shut up.

When my words are foolish … whether I recognize it or not … I just need to shut up.

When my words are dishonest … whether I admit it or not … I just need to shut up.

When my words are useless … whether I believe it or not … I just need to shut up.

When my words are vulgar … whether I am playing or not … I just need to shut up.

Enough of that.

It makes sense … doesn’t it … that if the Lord, Himself, chose not to speak – to suffer in silence – during one of the most stressful times in His life, that it might be wise for me to apply this wisdom from God to my life and lips … and just “clap” my “hand over” my “mouth” – just shut up – when I am under stress or in trouble?

So … today … as I read through Proverbs 30; seeking the wisdom of God for my life … I want to learn to be quiet – to be “quick to listen and slow to speak”[i] … to speak only when my words can be of some encouragement – some help to building up[ii] those who hear my words.

Wise saying #30 – “JUST SHUT UP!”

P.S. Day Thirty … read Proverbs 30. Want some homework?

  1. Stop talking … just for the day (or maybe just an hour or so). Don’t speak unless spoken to … unless you have some specific purpose for your words.
  2. Listen. Since you are not talking, it will be easier to hear what others are saying. Listen and understand what they are trying to say.

[i] James 1

[ii] Ephesians 4

Explore posts in the same categories: My Daily Bread

Leave a Reply

