WISE SAYING #28

Proverbs 28:19; “… but those who chase fantasies will have their fill of poverty.”

My mother and dad grew up out in the country – on the farm. Mother’s family didn’t have much – she would use the word “poor”; but Dad’s family was better off – not rich – but comfortable.

They both learned – early on – the necessity of daily chores and the benefits that come from taking care of those responsibilities. (If you want eggs, you have to feed the chickens and gather the eggs – every day. If you want milk, you have to feed the cows and milk them every day.

Even though they came from different economic experiences, they both believed in taking care of daily chores. They made sure to include us boys in those responsibilities, as well. They believed (and tried to teach us) that if you work hard – do your daily chores – take care of your responsibilities, you will have all that you need – and even more.

Even now, my dad – 89 years old – gets up every morning and takes care of the chores.

They didn’t believe in “get rich quick schemes”, and they warned us about them. “If something sounds too good to be true, it probably is.” The only time they ever wasted any money on anything like that was when I convinced them to do something that I had let some con man convince me to do. I still regret that. Hopefully, I have learned my lesson.

Enough of that.

It makes sense … doesn’t it … that the God, who authored the law of “reap what you sow”[i] would reward those who work – take care of their responsibilities – do their daily chores.

When you “chase fantasies”, you are wishing to reap without sowing. You are expecting the eggs and milk without the daily chores. Of course, that won’t work!

So … today … as I read through Proverbs 28; seeking the wisdom of God for my life … I want to imitate my mother and dad – I want to experience the blessing of God that comes with doing my daily chores, and I want to teach my children and grandchildren to do the same.

Wise saying #28 – “DON’T CHASE FANTASIES.”

P.S. Day Twenty-Eight … read Proverbs 28. Want some homework?

  1. Make a “to do” list. Make it specific to your life and family. After you make the list – number them, according to their importance. (Remember sometimes the ones that seem so urgent might not be the most important.)
  2. Start doing your “daily chores” – one “to do” thing at a time.

[i] Galatians 6

Explore posts in the same categories: My Daily Bread

Leave a Reply

