WISE SAYING #26

Proverbs 26:2; “Like a fluttering sparrow … an undeserved curse does not come to rest.”

I am on record … having said it publicly – privately – and in print … that I had a blessed childhood with parents and grandparents (on both sides) who loved each other and included me and my brothers in that love. I received nothing – NOTHING – but love – understand – acceptance – support – encouragement from my family.

That must have been why school was such a shock to my system. One of best friends makes fun of my teeth. A girl I liked teased me about my nose. An upper-classman compares me – unfavorably, of course – to my older brother. A coach mocks me in front of the team, intending (I think) to motivate me. A deacon at church accuses me of something I did not do – DID NOT DO – and mentioned in front of other church folks over and over again for years. A brother in Christ calls me aside to rebuke me for something he says that he knows I am thinking – which I wasn’t thinking.

I couldn’t change my teeth – even though I tried removing the “yellow” by scrubbing them with bathroom cleanser. I couldn’t change my nose or become my big brother. I couldn’t please the coach or the deacon or the brother.

But I listened to every criticism – every cutting remark – every judgment based on nothing more than that persons prejudgment of me … AND I TOOK THEM TO HEART.

By letting those words –curses – live on in my heart, I let people, who had not right, damage me – rob me of the joy of just being me – deceive me into denying the gifts God gave me – destroy any confidence that I could be something special in the Master’s hands.

Enough of that.

I have believed – for a while now – that it is always right to agree with God. So … if God made us “wonderful” and “precious[i], how could we ever let someone – anyone – make us feel less about ourselves that what God created us to be? Maybe we just didn’t learn from the wisdom of God – maybe nobody ever told us the advice God has for those, who have heard those “undeserved” curses.

If I wouldn’t let a bird – “fluttering sparrow” – nest in my hair, why would I let an “undeserved curse” rest in my heart. No matter who said it … what they said … why they said it … how they said it … “an undeserved curse” should not – must not – live on in your heart or head.

So … today … as I read through Proverbs 26; seeking the wisdom of God for my life … I want to fortify myself, as well as my children and grandchildren, from the damage that can be done by an “undeserved curse”.

Wise saying #26 – “SHOO THE BIRDS.”

P.S. Day Twenty-Six … read Proverbs 26. Want some homework?

  1. Read John 2:24. Do you think Jesus understood this wisdom from God?
  2. Read 1 Corinthians 4:1-4. Do you think Paul understood?
  3. Make a list of all of the “curses” that live in your memory – who said it – why they said it – how they said it. What are you going to do about them?

[i] Psalms 139

Explore posts in the same categories: My Daily Bread

Leave a Reply

